My Virtually Perfect Life

So… I lost my phone.
Don’t worry I know where it is, well I didn’t for a while, but I do now.

I left it in Italy, left safe in a safe.
So safe in fact that I even forgot about it and drove home without it.

I’m quite proud I lost it.

Well not proud, let me explain…

You see I was having so much fun in my real life that I completely forgot about keeping up my perfect virtual social media life.

We all do it. Make our life look better on social media than it really is.

If my Instagram was reality I’d spend my days faffing with petals and drinking cups of tea. Do you want to hear something funny- I don’t even drink tea and my knowledge of plants ranges from ‘daisy’ to ‘rose’ and not much further.

But in Italy, it didn’t matter. I didn’t take my camera out of my bag to record memories I just made memories. I didn’t blog about my deep inner most feelings about how nervous I was to see in the new year, I just saw it in. I didn’t upload my edit of our family Christmas to YouTube and spend the next 30 minutes counting views, most of which are my own, I just enjoyed creating it.

I did miss it, but not as desperately as I thought I would.

I never usually stick to resolutions, my rebellious streak always makes me want to break whatever rule I’ve fathomed up for the year.

But a resolution in which I strive to have a life that feels better in person than it looks on social media, now that sounds exciting to me.

It’s a challenge.

Yes my social media will be regularly updated with beautiful images, video and writing- however I will aim to ensure that my real life is always better, fuller, more exciting.

I want to live moments not just capture them
Suck them up, ooze them in, not let them pass by through the barrier of a phone or a camera lens.

You’ll have to remind me, I’m relying on you lot.

Oh and I still don’t have my phone back so sorry about that if you need to reach me, or maybe I’m not sorry?

If you do need me I’ll be in the Braintree area living my life, one real life moment at a time.

Leave a Reply

